Turning Point

AA Thought for the Day

Turning Point
Half measures availed us nothing.  We stood at the turning point.
We asked His protection and care with complete abandon.
– Alcoholics Anonymous, p. 59

Thought to Ponder . . .

I asked from the heart, and I received.

F A I T H = For An Instant Trust Him.
A MEMBER SHARES:
Hi everyone, I’m Lou and I’m an alcoholic.  When I came into AA this time, I didn’t have a lot of faith.  I’d often recite the Serenity Prayer but I’d feel like I was talking to the wind.  I was told things like “fake it ’til you make it” and “act as if,” and although it took a long time to manifest itself, I finally started believing.  First, and at the time, most important, believing that I could get sober mainly with the help of AA but also, eventually, that there was a Higher Power which could and would help me.  I was fortunate in that I had no real prejudice against God when I came into AA and even when I drank, I often prayed — just without much faith.  After doing a few half-hearted Second and Third Steps mainly so I could get on with the other Steps, I still wasn’t very far along spiritually, and the obsession to drink didn’t leave me — I basically “white-knuckled” it the first year.  When I had around a year sober, I got a silly resentment against my sponsor whom I turned into a monster.  I built this to the point where staying sober wasn’t a priority and was just putting off taking the first drink, hour by hour and minute by minute.  After getting to midnight and then 1am when the bars closed, I’d think I’d made it; that I was safe.  Then the thought popped into my head that I could throw a rock through a window of a liquor store and grab a few bottles.  And I knew, felt in every part of my being that was what I was going to do.  Instead, I got on my knees and started praying, as the topic suggests, with complete abandon, saying basically the Third Step prayer, but really meaning it with my complete being.  That’s when I had a spiritual experience and really felt the presence of God.  The obsession to drink was lifted and I’ve had faith in my heart to this day — nearly 31 years later.  I don’t always have faith in my head but I have it in my heart, where it counts.  Thanks for letting me share.

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in sex and love addiction SLAA/SAA/SA/XA recovery blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

