05-05: We all have issues…we all have a solution!

We all have issues…we all have a solution!

Quote
Life is thickly sown with thorns, and I know no other remedy than to pass quickly through them.  The longer we dwell on our misfortunes, the greater is their power to harm us. ~Voltaire~

Meditation
There is absolutely no good that comes from dwelling on perceived wrongs, past hurts or mistakes, lost opportunities or other burdens that may weigh us down.  When we allow such things to fester and consume our thought life, we only magnify their impact, and give them power to keep us from moving beyond them.

Thought for the day  
A great example of that would be a slip; sometimes optional, sometimes avoidable and sometimes necessary.  If it happens we must learn from it and dismiss it as a learning opportunity which has served its purpose, period.  Do not think less of yourself lest you allow the Evil one to have his way with you. Focus on all of the glorious hope and promise contained today, not on that which is past…and as your perspective changes new opportunities for spiritual growth will begin to unfold.

Scriptures
The thorny ground represents those who hear and accept the Good News, but all too quickly the message is crowded out by the cares of this life and the lure of wealth, so no crop is produced.  The good soil represents the hearts of those who truly accept God’s message and produce a huge harvest–thirty, sixty, or even a hundred times as much as had been planted.
~Jesus / Matthew 13:22,23 (NLT)~

To keep me from becoming conceited because of these surpassingly great revelations, there was given me a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me.  Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me.  But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”…That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties.  For when I am weak, then I am strong.
~2 Corinthians 12:7-10 (NIV)~

No, dear brothers and sisters, I am still not all I should be, but I am focusing all my energies on this one thing:  Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, I strain to reach the end of the race and receive the prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us up to heaven.
~Philippians 3:13,14 (NLT)~

Prayer
Heavenly Father, Wonderful Counselor, my tendency is to think of myself as uniquely disturbed by life and yet Your Word (the scriptures) tells me that even the evangelist Paul suffered just like me, for he had issues of the flesh too, big issues just like me.  Grant me the wisdom, and the courage that you gave him, to not allow my feelings of worthlessness to take root regardless of my many failures. It is in the overcoming of these failures and the subsequent submission to you that I find the strength to carry on and stay on the path to my destiny with you. Help me today to stay in the now and be mindful of opportunities to glorify you and help my fellow brother.  In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in sex and love addiction SLAA/SAA/SA/XA recovery blog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

