13-04: One More Time…

One More Time…

Quote
You may have to fight a battle more than once to win it. ~Margaret Thatcher~

Meditation
Oftentimes, it seems there is at least one area in our lives that we simply cannot gain victory over.  We long to overcome it, we know that it isn’t right…but there is still that one thing, that lingering problem, that little idol.  It can lead to grief and tears, being torn with guilt and condemnation…feelings of helplessness, unworthiness and confusion.  Take heart!  The very fact that you recognize the need for change is a step in the right direction.  This Awareness is important but it must be accompanied by Acceptance and Action, the AAA solution.  Continue to declare the victory, and do not give up hope…He who has begun a good work in you, is faithful to complete it!!!

Thought for the day
Sometimes it takes years, or even decades to overcome certain deep rooted traumas and events that manifest themselves in actions and behaviors that perpetuate our feelings of worthlessness.  Later upon contemplation (daily inventory) we feel useless, confused and unworthy of healing, change and God’s unconditional love.  What is in Satan’s bag of tricks for you?  Is it an overriding need to control?  Is it your need to be secretive about your struggles?  Is it your self-righteousness?  Is it your continuing selfishness? Is it that you still secretly hold out hope that one day you’ll be able to manage acting out?  Is there something you need to surrender and give up to God or are you a lone soldier in your battle with addiction and all its weapons? One more time you are told to give up the fight, give up the struggle and give up any hope of self-treatment.  Resolve today to ask for and receive help.  It may not be part of your plan… but it might just be part of His.

Scriptures
For I do not understand my own actions [I am baffled, bewildered].  I do not practice or accomplish what I wish, but I do the very thing that I loathe [which my moral instinct condemns].  Now if I do [habitually] what is contrary to my desire [that means that] I acknowledge and agree that the Law is good (morally excellent) and that I take sides with it.  However, it is no longer I who do the deed, but the sin [principle] which is at home in me and has possession of me.  So I find it to be a law (rule of action of my being) that when I want to do what is right and good, evil is ever present with me and I am subject to its insistent demands.  O unhappy and pitiable and wretched man that I am!  Who will release and deliver me from [the shackles of] this body of death?  O thank God!  [He will]!  through Jesus Christ (the anointed one) our Lord!…
~Romans 7:15-17,21,24,25 (Amp)~

So will My word be which goes forth from My mouth;  It will not return to Me empty, Without accomplishing what I desire, And without succeeding in the matter for which I sent it. ~Isaiah 55:11 (NASB)~

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in sex and love addiction SLAA/SAA/SA/XA recovery blog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

