10-04: Take Rest and Grow

Take Rest and Grow

Quote
He that can take rest is greater than he that can take cities. ~Benjamin Franklin~

Meditation
In order to maintain proper perspective, and see things clearly, you must allow yourself to have adequate rest, both physically and mentally.  It is most often in these times of rest and quiet reflection that we receive the greatest inspirations, insights and revelations.  Even Jesus needed rest…and so he left the crowds and his followers and crossed the lake to be alone and be refreshed.

Thought for the day
Can I sit alone and be still?  Am I overloading my day with appointments, meetings and responsibilities just so I can avoid being with me?  Am I that afraid to get to know me?  Do you believe you are going to find such ugliness that God will reject you?  As long as we try to do the right thing, there is nothing that we can do or have done that will separate us from the love of God!

Scriptures
Rest in the LORD, and wait patiently for him: fret not thyself because of him who prospereth in his way, because of the man who bringeth wicked devices to pass.  Cease from anger, and forsake wrath: fret not thyself in any wise to do evil.  For evildoers shall be cut off: but those that wait upon the LORD, they shall inherit the earth.~Psalms 37:7-9~

Be still, and know that I am God… ~Psalms 46:10~

Prayer
Father God, Wonderful Counselor, you know all about me with all my warts and imperfections and yet you love me still.  Help me to do the same Lord, for I know that as long as I run from me I cannot truly love purely.  I am told I must discover who I am before I can recover from what I’ve become and so I ask you, my Heavenly Father, to teach me to be still and help me encounter myself through the 12 steps, that in the providential order of the steps I might truly encounter myself, be able to recover from my condition and eventually allow You to make of me what You wish me to become.  If this is your will I pray for this in the name of your only son, my savior Jesus.  Amen.

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in sex and love addiction SLAA/SAA/SA/XA recovery blog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

