06-04: Shine On…

Shine On…

Quote
Your playing small does not serve the world.  There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.  We were all meant to shine  It’s not just in some of us… it’s in everyone.  And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.  As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.   ~Timo Cruz from the movie Coach Carter~

Meditation
We are constantly challenged to be the light that shines in a dark and weary world.  Purpose today to be that light, in spite of whatever circumstances may arise.   Watch the amazing power therein, to change any person and any circumstance, as a result of our wattage.

Thought for the day
When I attend 12 Step meetings am I a representative of the light or darkness? Do I look for the good in everyone?  Do I criticize those that share at meetings so I might feel different and distance myself from them or do I look for the light in all my affairs?  Am I preoccupied with being different so I can feel better than others  or do I really try to share hope, truth and faith?  What do I look for when I attend meetings?  Am I looking for identification of my struggles or am I looking for a long-term solution to all my life’s difficulties?  Do I enjoy talking about my problems and the darkness within me believing that somehow this regurgitation will lead to temporary sobriety or am I seeking or sharing about the solution and the need to move towards the light of self-discovery and spiritual renewal?

Scriptures
You are like light for the whole world.  A city built on top of a hill cannot be hidden, and no one would light a lamp and put it under a clay pot.  A lamp is placed on a lamp stand, where it can give light to everyone in the house.  Make your light shine, so that others will see the good that you do and will praise your Father in heaven. ~Matthew 5:14-16 (CEV)~

Do all things without complaining and disputing, that you may become blameless and harmless, children of God without fault in the midst of a crooked and perverse generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world…
~Philippians 2:14-15~

Prayer
Dear Lord, I know you’ve created me for a much higher purpose than I am living today.  Help me to live out my days in full knowledge and acceptance of your personal mission for me, whatever that may be.  I know that as a past resident of the dark, evil hates light so help me to shine today as a little beacon of hope to those that are still hidden by choice or lack of knowledge.  Help me to shine inside that I may illumine the life of others.  In your precious name I pray.  Amen

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in sex and love addiction SLAA/SAA/SA/XA recovery blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

