04-04: Possibilities…

Possibilities…

Quote
It’s kind of fun to do the impossible. Walt Disney

Meditation
Take a look around you at all the things we now take for granted in our daily lives, that were just a short time ago considered to be impossibilities such as…sobriety, faith, hope and dare I say it… love.      When you are given a vision of something new or different, like Recovery, don’t allow the dream stealers (or your own thoughts of doubt and inability) to take it from you.   There will always be those standing by, ready to tell you why something can’t be done.  Simply run with the vision, the pursuit of Godliness, and see where it leads!!!

Thought for the day
I remember years ago I went to church and saw a group of godly men with their families outside after the service.  The addict in me said to me; “I can’t ever be such a righteous man, a true family man, a devout individual focused on godliness.  It can not be because as hard as I try I am and always will be a scumbag”.  Thank God that my thoughts and feelings do not constitute truth.  I continued to show up at meetings, continued to listen to those who would not give up on me and continued to work on my faith.  I have learned that thoughts if allowed will turn to feelings, which left unchecked will dictate our attitude… but we do not have to act on them.  Feelings are neither right nor wrong… they sometimes are true but many times not.

Those same men I thought were truly special are my friends today and through accountability we help each other stay on the path to Godliness.  They are not supernatural or extraordinary… they are like me, ordinary men trying to do extra ordinary things.  How about you?  Are you limited by your own thoughts of who you are and what you can be?  Remember, anything is possible with God in your corner!

Scriptures
…And who knows but that you have come to the kingdom for such a time as this and for this very occasion? ~Esther 4:14 (Amp)~

Then the LORD told me:  “I will give you my message in the form of a vision.  Write it clearly enough to be read at a glance.  At the time I have decided, my words will come true.  You can trust what I say about the future.  It may take a long time, but keep on waiting–it will happen!” ~Habakkuk 2:2,3 (CEV)~

“What do you mean, `If I can’?” Jesus asked. “Anything is possible if a person believes.”  ~Jesus – Mark 9:23 (NLT)~

…For truly I say to you, if you have faith [that is living] like a grain of mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, Move from here to yonder place, and it will move; and nothing will be impossible to you. ~Jesus – Matthew 17:20 (Amp~

…For with God, nothing is impossible. ~Luke 1:37~

Prayer
Wonderful Counselor and Loving Father, I come to you today as your son in need of hope, courage and determination.  Lord, you know that in spite of the persona I portray to the outside world, that of confidence and self assuredness, inside I am fearful and lack courage and commitment to change.  Help me to start today, right now on the path to Godliness, that I may strive to become like your son Jesus, a model of righteousness, love and friendship.  Help me to learn and know that the quickest path to you, the quickest way to get going, and the fastest way to jumpstart this lifetime effort is to be of service to my fellow man.  Help me get my eyes off my belly button that I might face up and forward as I begin my new life today, a life dedicated to becoming a son with whom you are well pleased.  This I pray in the name above all names, your son Jesus.  Amen.

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in sex and love addiction SLAA/SAA/SA/XA recovery blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

