Solution

Solution
There is a solution.  Almost none of us liked the self-searching, the leveling of our pride, the confession of shortcomings
which the process requires for its successful consummation. But we saw that it really worked in others.
– Alcoholics Anonymous, p. 25

Thought to Ponder . . .

The solution is simple.  The solution is spiritual.

S O L U T I O N S = Saving Our Lives Using The Inspiration Of Necessary Steps.

A MEMBER SHARES:
Hi, Terry here, grateful alcoholic.  “There is a solution” — those words give me hope.  I was joking with a friend that I am no longer in charge of who lives, dies, gets sober, or doesn’t.  Somehow when I was drinking, before coming to this program, I thought that my thoughts, prayers, and actions could change the world.  Maybe they can in some small ways — but the reality that I am not in charge is still hard for me to accept some days.  I have lost friends in sobriety as well as when still drunk.  And it is really hard sober because I don’t have the ‘grease’ for dealing with tears, emotion, and loss.  But one thing I have sober that I didn’t have drinking is an awareness that I am not in charge of the universe.  So if everything is as it should be, and I trust my Higher Power then I can more easily pull my fingers off the wheel of the lives of others and focus on what I am called to change today — which is most usually my attitude and approach.  The relief is that if I don’t cause it, can’t change it, and can’t cure it, then I don’t have to carry that type of guilt any more.  Maybe, just maybe, I can learn ways to get around my warped alcoholic thinking, and in the company of other alcoholics and our collective Experience, Strength, and Hope, start learning instead of dictating how life should be.   It’s a process, and you teach me every day.  Deep love and affection, and thanks for keeping me sober.

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in sex and love addiction SLAA/SAA/SA/XA recovery blog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

