08-03: It’s The Little Things…

It’s The Little Things…

Quote
Great Opportunities to help others seldom come, but small ones surround us every day.  ~Sally Koch~

Meditation
How often do we yearn to be used for mighty works, or long for great accomplishment, and yet overlook the many opportunities that are given to us each and every day to make a difference in some small way?  It is through faithfulness in doing the little things to the best of our ability, that the door to greater opportunity is opened.

Thought for the day
Have I given up on the idea of becoming Commander In Chief, President of my company, Chairman of AA, Vice Chairman of SAA, Pastor of my church or Dean of the College of Short Cuts?  It is time to accept the fact that very few of us are called to be great leaders or great evangelizers.  For most of us our saving grace is the fact that God has put us in a field of anonymity where we are supposed to concentrate on changing our lives for the benefit of ourselves and our loved ones and concentrate on helping others in the same way. Let us then go forward today and look for the little opportunities to grow close to God and our fellows.  You’ve heard it said before that it is the little things that get us drunk….well it is the little things that keep us sober too!  Let us be witnesses of God’s extra ordinary power by going out and doing the ordinary things…..well!

Scriptures
Then the King will say to those on His right hand, “Come, you blessed of My Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world: for I was hungry and you gave Me food; I was thirsty and you gave Me drink; I was a stranger and you took Me in; I was naked and you clothed Me; I was sick and you visited Me; I was in prison and you came to Me…And the King will answer and say to them, “Assuredly, I say to you, inasmuch as you did it to one of the least of these My brethren, you did it to Me.” ~Jesus / Matthew 25:34-36,40~

And he said to him, Well done excellent bond servant!  Because you have been faithful and trustworthy in a very little [thing], you shall have authority over ten cities. ~Jesus, Luke 19:17 (Amp)~

Be not forgetful to entertain strangers: for thereby some have entertained angels unawares. ~Hebrews 13:2~

Prayer
Heavenly Father, Dad, Abba, help me today to know that I need not see a burning bush to know I am to be used, to know I am worthwhile in your eyes.  Help me to know the truth that I need not be anything other than what you made me to feel like I belong.  Father God, somewhere in my life I had to rely on my actions and possessions to feel worthy because my self esteem had been destroyed by those I trusted most.  Help me today to end the madness of having things outside of myself restore that which I most long for, inside of me.  Be with me today and help me to know that I am fine just as I am and that you love me unconditionally because I am your child.  Help me to know that all I need to do each and every day is be willing to look inside and recognize those areas that I still need to work on so that I may grow up to be the best son/daughter I was/am called to be.  This I ask for in the name above all names, Jesus. Amen.

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in sex and love addiction SLAA/SAA/SA/XA recovery blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

