20-02: We must discover who we are…

We must discover who we are…

Quote
At first Truth appears harsh and threatening.  Stick with its ideas and you will see it appears harsh only to the wrong parts in us that have chained us to our self-defeating habits.   ~Vernon Howard~

Meditation
When we are confronted with the truth (especially about ourselves), there is a natural tendency to shun it, be offended by it, or rebel against it.   As we work with our sponsors, perhaps a therapist and open ourselves up to accountability from them and others in recovery we must begin to diligently examine the origin of those feelings and emotions that cause us to become unglued with defensiveness.   We can then come to recognize that they are the direct result of our attempts to defend and preserve improper desires and behaviors.  Only when we open ourselves to the truth of our own condition, can a permanent change take place within us to dispel them.

Thought for the day
As we work the AAA program (Awareness, Acceptance and Action) we can take the appropriate action to correct some of these defects of character (deformities) that have kept us bound to addiction.  What are you doing about your character defects today?  If we expect to be in recovery, we must work on the solution to our life’s problems. And what is our life’s number one problem?   No, not our addiction…but us, we are our problem!  “We must discover who we are if we are to recover from what we’ve become”.

Scriptures
To the Jews who had believed him, Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples.  Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”  They answered him, “We are Abraham’s descendants and have never been slaves of anyone.  How can you say that we shall be set free?”  Jesus replied, “I tell you the truth, everyone who sins is a slave to sin.  Now a slave has no permanent place in the family, but a son belongs to it forever.  So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed…I tell you the truth, if anyone keeps my word, he will never see death.”
~John 8:31-36,51 (NIV)~

“If you love me, you will obey what I command.  And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Counselor to be with you forever–the Spirit of truth.  The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees him nor knows him.  But you know him, for he lives with you and will be in you.  I will not leave you as orphans;  I will come to you.  Before long, the world will not see me anymore, but you will see me.  Because I live, you also will live.  On that day you will realize that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you.  Whoever has my commands and obeys them, he is the one who loves me.  He who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love him and show myself to him.”
~Jesus / John 14:15-21 (NIV)~

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in sex and love addiction SLAA/SAA/SA/XA recovery blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

