15-02: Is my God too small?

Is my God too small?

Quote
If you think you are too small to be effective, you have never been in bed with a mosquito. ~BettyReese~

Meditation
Never think that your ability, or what you have at hand, is insufficient to get the job done.  Start where you are, with what you have, trusting that all that is needed to live life in peace has been given to you (You already have it!) and whatever that is required to accomplish the task in front of you will be provided as needed.  You will be amazed at how things begin to develop, and provision begins to multiply and grow…before you know it, the vision you have for your life will have been realized!

Thought for the day
Have you ever thought about going over to cheer up someone who is in pain?  Perhaps they’ve lost a loved one, divorced, lost a career or worst of all perhaps a child.  You think about reaching out to them, but then decide you don’t know what to say and give up.
Now you can come up with a similar situation at work or home or just about in any environment we find ourselves in.  The problem is that most of us rely on our own wisdom, strength, knowledge to determine our capabilities, never even considering that perhaps this is a God given opportunity to build up someone spiritually and in the process ourselves.  Here as in nearly all situations addicts want to be independent.
Is my God too small?  The next time you are confronted with a similar situation, know that the One you call God will always supply you with what you will need to love another.  When in doubt…fire out!

Scripture
“There is a lad here who has five barley loaves and two small fish, but what are they among so many?”  Then Jesus said, “Make the people sit down.” Now there was much grass in the place. So the men sat down, in number about five thousand.  And Jesus took the loaves, and when He had given thanks He distributed them to the disciples, and the disciples to those sitting down; and likewise of the fish, as much as they wanted.  So when they were filled, He said to His disciples, “Gather up the fragments that remain, so that nothing is lost.”  Therefore they gathered them up, and filled twelve baskets with the fragments of the five barley loaves which were left over by those who had eaten.
~John 6:9-13 (NKJV)~

Prayer
Dear Lord, I hear all the time that “You and I are an overwhelming majority” and there’s nothing we can’t accomplish together.  As much as I would like to live my life with that truth seared in my heart I prevent me from doing it.  I get in my own way.   First by not being mindful of you during the day and then when stricken with fear I fail to recognize that all I need is you to complete any task in front of me.  Help me to know in the very depths of my being that You are enough for me to conquer anything.
Addiction is not my problem, Me, I am my problem and with Me doing the footwork and You by my side directing my life nothing can stand in the way of a purpose driven life, with loving others in service as the purpose you have willed for me. Please help me to see clearly all the times when I seek to take over so I might quickly return to the road less traveled in union with you.

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in sex and love addiction SLAA/SAA/SA/XA recovery blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 15-02: Is my God too small?

  1. sulochanosho says:

    Very profound words of abundance of life there. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

