10-02: Food For Thought…

Food For Thought…

Quote
A Native American grandfather was talking to his grandson about his anger at being mistreated.  He said, “I feel as if I have two wolves fighting in my heart. One wolf is the vengeful, angry, violent one. The other wolf is the loving, compassionate one.” The grandson asked him, “Which wolf will win the fight in your heart?” The grandfather smiled and answered, “The one I feed.”
~Author unknown~

Meditation
How we respond to things that are said, done, or which happen to us, is in large part a result of the thoughts that we entertain regarding them.  While our first thought may be to return harsh treatment with like behavior, we do have the power within us to overcome that instinct, and instead return kindness and love in every situation.  Learning to measure and control our responses in such a manner is one of the most liberating and life-changing accomplishments one can attain.  Not only does it serve to bring a sense of peace and harmony to our own life, but also to all whom we come in contact.

Thought for the day
If the recovery program is about change, and it is, what am I doing to become a better person?  Am I really wanting, working for and expecting true change in my spirit, heart, soul and mind or am I waiting for all my character defects and deep rooted ills to just magically disappear?  Let’s get real; if you want something you have never had, you will need to do some things you have never done! Each and every day we must work on the solution (good wolf) not on the problem (bad wolf) until our goodness is so powerful from being fed by us that the evil that resides in all of us (original sin) is put to sleep.

Scriptures
For though we live in the world, we do not wage war as the world does. The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds. We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ. You are looking only on the surface of things.  If anyone is confident that he belongs to Christ, he should consider again that we belong to Christ just as much as he. ~2 Corinthians 10:3-5,7

Finally, all of you should be of one mind, full of sympathy toward each other, loving one another with tender hearts and humble minds. Don’t repay evil for evil. Don’t retaliate when people say unkind things about you. Instead, pay them back with a blessing. That is what God wants you to do, and he will bless you for it. For the Scriptures say, “If you want a happy life and good days, keep your tongue from speaking evil, and keep your lips from telling lies.” Turn away from evil and do good. Work hard at living in peace with others. The eyes of the Lord watch over those who do right, and his ears are open to their prayers. But the Lord turns his face against those who do evil. Now, who will want to harm you if you are eager to do good? But even if you suffer for doing what is right, God will reward you for it… ~1 Peter 3:8-14 (NLT)~

Prayer
Heavenly Father, I come to you today on the mission of self discovery.  I want to be honest with the world but most importantly with myself about my true condition.  Am I as well as I think I am or is that Satan preparing me for a relapse?  Am I in denial about my heart?  Am I allowing my  dramatic over sensitivity to others’ comments to create in the justifiable anger (there can be no such thing for us addicts) that poisons my heart?  I long to be able to accept criticisms and explore the truth, discard what does not fit, and pray for those who need to pick on me to feel better themselves?  Am I done with retaliation as a life strategy?  Please continue to heal my heart so that it can remain reserved for You and the love You will for me to share with others in my life.  Amen.

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in sex and love addiction SLAA/SAA/SA/XA recovery blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

