19-01: A Life is a Terrible Thing to Waste!

A Life is a Terrible Thing to Waste!

 
Quote
It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the
strong man stumbled or where the doer of deeds could have done
them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the
arena; whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives
valiantly; who errs and comes short again and again; who knows the
great enthusiasms, the great devotions, and spends himself in a
worthy cause; who, at the best, knows the triumph of high
achievement; and who, at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while
daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and
timid souls who knew neither victory nor defeat.  ~Theodore Roosevelt~

 

Meditation
Life is meant to be lived…give it everything you’ve got, and dare to
reach for the stars.  What have you got to lose?  If you fall down,
you can always get right back up and try again!  The only real loss
to be suffered is that in reflecting on what might have been, had
you only given it a chance. 

Thought for the Day
In the movie 300, about the 300 Spartans who battled thousands from the Persian Empire legions, I couldn’t help but admire King Leonides’ passion for a life lived uncompromising his personal principles and convictions.  He was not just interested in being a Spartan and defending his country.  He was committed!
Do I recognize that I am blessed with having been given another shot at life?  Do I merely exist or am I going for the gold?  Do I recognize that Recovery can only happen with my commitment to being reborn in the spirit (only through working the 12 steps) and am I grateful for and committed to that ideal?
Do I sit around bitching, complaining and commiserating about my sad state or do I look for those in the program who are full of life, hope and faith so I can be renewed in spirit by their support?
 
Scriptures
Keep on asking and it will be given you; keep on seeking and you
will find; keep on knocking [reverently] and [the door] will be
opened to you.  For everyone who keeps on asking receives; and he
who keeps on seeking finds; and to him who keeps on knocking,
[the door] will be opened.
~Jesus, Matthew 7:7,8 (Amp)~

Prayer

Dear God, help me to change my ways today.  Just for today (tomorrow will be another day and I’ll have a chance to decide again) help me to know that, unlike in my previous life as an addict, today I have choices….major choices!  Allow me to know personal freedom by learning that each and every moment (If I stay in the now) I have a chance to decide who I am.  Will I be a scumbag or a Godly man, will I be a friend or an envious self centered being, will I be like an open flower beautifying everything around me or a pesticide drowning the life of those around me.  Lord help me to see clearly my choices today.  I am so happy to have choices today and I thank you for allowing me to choose the attitudes I will carry about my life today.  To you I give all glory.  Amen.

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in sex and love addiction SLAA/SAA/SA/XA recovery blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

