13-01: Shine On…

Shine On…

Quote
How far that little candle throws his beams!  So shines a good deed in a weary world. ~William Shakespeare~

Meditation
Never underestimate the value of a simple gesture of kindness…a smile, a loving word, a helping hand given to someone that is in need, or just a sympathetic ear.  It might just be the very thing that completely changes another person’s perspective, or direction in life.  Then again, it might just be the very thing that changes your own.

Thought for the day
Do I have my God radar on most days looking for an opportunity to serve my fellows or I am I committed to my favorite pastime…..Navel Gazing.  Am I so self absorbed that I don’t yet see that the best way to get my head out of my rear is to help another?   Am I so overly concerned with planning what I am going to do for myself and my loved ones that I do not listen to the stillness in me for direction and guidance from the One whose plans are perfect?   Do I understand that the 12th Step is part of the 12 Step program?

Scriptures
And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not. ~Galatians 6:9~

Let love for your fellow believers continue and be a fixed practice with you [never let it fail].  Do not forget or neglect or refuse to extend hospitality to strangers [in the brotherhood–being friendly, cordial, and gracious, sharing the comforts of your home and doing your part generously], for through it some have entertained angels without knowing it .~Hebrews 13:1,2 (Amp)~

You are the light of the world…Let your light so shine before men that they may see your moral excellence and your praiseworthy, notable, and good deeds and recognize and honor and praise and glorify your Father who is in heaven.
~Jesus – Matthew 5:14,16 (Amp)~

Prayer
Heavenly Father, it is impossible for me, on my own, to have your desires in mind.  I almost always choose to think of me first.  This happens despite the fact that I am in recovery and wish to be reconnected with you.
Grant me this day the mind of service you gave to St Francis, that I might be mindful of the opportunities presented to me each day to be kind, gentle and loving towards others.  Help me to stop this habit of looking at me first before all others!  I wish to serve you.  And I know that if my ideal is to become real it is only thru service to my fellows that I will be united with you in this lifetime as well as the next.  In Jesus’ name I pray.  Amen.

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in sex and love addiction SLAA/SAA/SA/XA recovery blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

