16-12: F.E.A.R. – False Evidence Appearing Real

F.E.A.R. – False Evidence Appearing Real

Quote
Do the thing you are afraid to do and the death of fear is certain.  ~Ralph Waldo Emerson~

Meditation
When you begin to step out into the unknown, and do that which is new to you, it’s natural to feel somewhat fearful.  Keep your eyes on the vision you have, and not on those obstacles that may arise to hinder your progress, and you will realize your goal.  As you conquer each obstacle in your path, that which may have initially appeared to be insurmountable (FEAR), will begin to look as if it wasn’t even worthy of your attention.

Thought for the day
After all the time I have spent attending meetings and doing my fourth step inventories have I really discovered who I am?  Have I, with the help of my sponsor, uncovered my fears?  Do I really know what fears really control my actions?  Am I learning to recognize the conditions that bring up my fears again and again?  Am I calling on the Lord each and everyday to keep me from the darkness of my fears?  Am I really “on the way” to personal freedom?  Most of the fears we have are irrational. For example many addicts have the fear that someone will find out who they really are underneath the façade.  Well, take your mask off, concentrate on becoming a godly person, turn your life around and eliminate that fear.  Live a good life and live in faith rather than fear.

Scriptures
Even when I walk through the darkest valley, I will not be afraid, for you are close beside me.  Your rod and your staff protect and comfort me.  You prepare a feast for me in the presence of my enemies.  You honor me by anointing my head with oil.  My cup overflows with blessings.  Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me all the days of my life, and I will live in the house of the Lord forever. ~Psalm 23:4-6 (NLT)~

He who overcomes shall inherit all things, and I will be his God and he shall be My son. ~Revelation 21:7 (NKJV)~

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in sex and love addiction SLAA/SAA/SA/XA recovery blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

