14-12: A Prideful Thought…A Dangerous thing!

A Prideful Thought…A Dangerous thing!

Quote
Denial ain’t just a river in Egypt. ~Mark Twain~

Meditation
We must be ever diligent not to become smug in our own knowledge and self-righteousness, thinking that we are beyond reproach.   Have you ever noticed in 12 Step rooms how there are lots of newcomers, many 5-10 year recovering addicts but when we get to the 10-20 year sobriety range the members are few. Why do you suppose that is?  I believe it is because after a lot of years of “working it” many addicts reach a plateau where pride gets in the way of their personal work in recovery.  Why do I need to take another 4th step?   Perhaps I can make 1 meeting a month?  I know everything there is to know about recovery.  I am a great sponsor and I work with others; maybe I do not need anyone else to check in with.   That prideful arrogance can easily blind us to our own weaknesses and shortcomings, and open the door to a host of other improper attitudes and behaviors.  The fall from such a lofty perch, can be a quite painful one.   Regardless of how much time we have sober and in recovery the best attitude regarding 12 Step programs is one that allows us to want to learn more.  I believe that nothing short of resentments is more dangerous to a recovering addict than a prideful attitude.  Open mindedness is the key to recovery regardless of how much time we have.

Thought for the day
How am I really doing?  Do I have a false air of invincibility?  Am I open to hearing over and over the message of recovery? Do I sponsor myself…..really?   Am I still open to the guidance and direction of sponsorship?  Am I through learning?  Am I making the minimum number of meetings or am I making more meetings than I need?  Am I still interested in serving God through my commitment to the program?  Am I beginning to resent the time I spend with others?  Do I still read and seek the wisdom in recovery literature?  Am I staying current with others about my life and the feelings I deal with?  Am I open to change and do I recognize that there are still defects that I still need to deal with?

Scripture
When swelling and pride come, then emptiness and shame come also, but with the humble (those who are lowly, who have been pruned or chiseled by trial, and renounce self) are skillful and godly Wisdom and soundness.
~Proverbs 11:2 (Amp)~

Pride goes before destruction, And a haughty spirit before stumbling.  It is better to be humble in spirit with the lowly than to divide the spoil with the proud.
~Proverbs 16:18,19 (NASB)~

Prayer
Heavenly Father, let me never forget from whence I come, that I may always look upon my life as a challenge to love you and my fellow man.  Please don’t let my head grow too big.  Help me stay grounded and not let pride enter my house regardless of my accomplishments, be they personal, social, financial or spiritual.  Let me always feel my feet on the ground and my hands clasped together in prayerful submission to you and your wondrous power of healing and unconditional love.  In your name I pray.
Amen

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in sex and love addiction SLAA/SAA/SA/XA recovery blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

