29-09: Don’t pull tomorrow’s clouds over today’s sunshine!

Don’t pull tomorrow’s clouds over today’s sunshine!

Quote
It is said that our anxiety does not empty tomorrow of its sorrows, but only empties today of its strength.  ~Charles H. Spurgeon~

Meditation
It’s true that being anxious about tomorrow, or some possible event that “might” happen in the future, only serves one purpose…to distract us from that which we could and should be doing now, today.  Imagine just how much time is lost, in worry and fret about things that never even come to pass.  Doesn’t it seem like a tremendous waste of time?  Live for today, not in fear of what tomorrow may hold!

Thought for the day
Wise old timers tell us that the single most important thing we can do to help our own recovery along is to “stay in the now”.   One of the many reasons why this is critical to do is that God does not reside in the past, nor can He be found in the future.  If we are still living in the truth that we need God in every part of our lives, then the only time that He is accessible to us is in the now, in the present.  Let’s make sure we practice mindfulness, staying in the now, for it is one of the practices we must master to live a life that is happy, joyous and free.

Scriptures
Therefore I tell you, stop being perpetually uneasy (anxious, and worried) about your life…Look at the birds of the air; they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father keeps feeding them.  Are you not worth much more than they?  And who of you by worrying and being anxious can add one unit of measure (cubit) to his stature or to the span of his life?  Therefore do not worry and be anxious, saying, What are we going to have to eat? or, What are we going to have to drink? or, What are we going to have to wear?…your heavenly Father knows well that you need them all.  But seek (aim at and strive after) first of all His kingdom and His righteousness (His way of doing and being right), and then all these things taken together will be given you besides.
~Matthew 6:25-27,31-33 (Amp)~

Prayer
Lord, I know that the only way for me to have access to you is if I get out of my head.  Father, you know that through the many years of addictive behavior the pathways and byways of my mind have been corrupted so that when I see and hear certain words and sights I automatically go there to those highways that lead me to obsessive and compulsive thinking of past and future acting out behaviors, fears, resentments and self pity.  Help me to stay in the now, help me to stay close to you where I am totally protected from the harm I cause myself by returning to my addictive obsessive thinking. When I am in this dangerous place remind me that I no longer need to hurt myself.  I have choices to do the right thing today.  Help me to remember the tools I have been given to bring me back to the now, and be comforted by your undying and unconditional love.  In Jesus’ name I pray.  Amen.

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in Geen categorie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

