11-10: Patience, Endurance and….Action!

Patience, Endurance and….Action!

Quote

Never think that God’s delays are God’s denials. Hold on; hold fast; hold out. Patience is genius. ~George-Louis Leclerc de Buffon~

Meditation

Often the difference between overcoming, or being overcome by circumstances is a matter of patience.  If you are willing to steadfastly endure, clinging to the truth you know and the vision you have received, come what may…you will see obstacles begin to move, and a way unfold that you may not have even given the slightest attention to in the beginning.  Hang on, and simply see what God can, and will, do on your behalf.  Miracles do happen…but you have to stick around to be one!

 

Thought for the day

How many times have we thought; “I won’t be able to make it or I am too different from the rest of these folks?”  Or, “if they had my problems they’d be struggling too or I can’t live without drinking, drugging, acting out or whatever is your addiction d’jour”?  I remember back in 1984 when I got sober from drugs and alcohol thinking that I simply could not live without drinking.  I can’t have fun or dance or laugh again!  My addiction was alive and well in me.  But, I kept coming back…and I became a miracle.  I attended on average 11 meetings per week the first 2 ½ years.  How about you?  Are you struggling to make 2 or 3 meetings per week? Are you working your steps or are you playing the addiction game?  Are you going to be a miracle or another addiction casualty?

 

Scriptures

Trust in the LORD and do good; Dwell in the land and cultivate faithfulness. Delight yourself in the LORD; And He will give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the LORD, Trust also in Him, and He will do it. He will bring forth your righteousness as the light and your judgment as the noonday. Rest in the LORD and wait patiently for Him; do not fret because of him who prospers in his way, Because of the man who carries out wicked schemes. Cease from anger and forsake wrath; Do not fret; {it leads} only to evildoing. For evildoers will be cut off, But those who wait for the LORD, they will inherit the land.
~Psalm 37:3-9 (NASB)~

For you have need of steadfast patience and endurance, so that you may perform and fully accomplish the will of God, and thus receive and carry away [and enjoy to the full] what is promised.  For still a little while (a very little while), and the Coming One will come and He will not delay.  But the just shall live by faith [my righteous servant shall live by his conviction respecting man’s relationship to God and divine things, and holy fervor born of faith and conjoined with it];  and if he draws back and shrinks in fear, My soul has no delight or pleasure in him. ~Hebrews 10:36-38 (Amp)~

Prayer

Heavenly Father, help me to become a miracle also.  Grant me the courage, the wisdom and the determination to overcome my addiction.  Help me to get out of my head and begin to change my life.  Help me to listen to your still voice rather than the loud ranting of the Evil One who wishes to convince me I am not worthy of your love.  Help me to be like the others who just show up sober and live life one day at a time, one hour at a time and sometimes one minute at a time.  Help me to be a brother to all I meet at meetings and not to position myself above or below anyone. Help me to live a new life!  I ask this in the name of your son, my Lord and savior Jesus Christ. Amen.

 

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in sex and love addiction SLAA/SAA/SA/XA recovery blog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

