02-10: A Gentle Reminder…

A Gentle Reminder…

Quote
Soft words are hard arguments. ~Thomas Fuller~

Meditation
There is never a good reason to shout in order to make a point, and words spoken in anger or wrath seldom ever achieve a positive result.  A calm and civil approach in stating one’s intent, or in reply to another, will always carry more weight and authority toward accomplishing the desired outcome.  It may not always appear that your words have been heard, but ultimately their echoes will continue to sound, and they will not return void.

Thought for the day
It is a fact that the number of times we raise our voices during the day is an indicator of the progress we’ve made in surrendering all things to God.
Am I still trying to control the outcome of situations (people, places and things) or am I making substantial progress in my disposition and behavior?  This is what the 3rd step is all about.  This is what the 4th through the 7th steps are all about.  This is what the 10th step is all about. In fact, this is what recovery is all about!   Please remember, in this program…we’re either growing or going….nuts that is.  And what does NUTS stand for?  Not Using the Steps!!!!!

Scriptures
Earth and Sky, listen to what I say!  Israel, I will teach you.  My words will be like gentle rain on tender young plants, or like dew on the grass.  Join with me in praising the wonderful name of the LORD our God.~Deuteronomy 32:1-3 (CEV)~

A gentle answer turns away wrath, but harsh words stir up anger.
Gentle words bring life and health; a deceitful tongue crushes the spirit.
~Proverbs 15:1,4 (NLT)~

Words of wisdom spoken softly make much more sense than the shouts of a ruler to a crowd of fools. ~Ecclesiastes 9:17 (CEV)~

Blessed (happy, blithesome, joyous, spiritually prosperous–with life-joy and satisfaction in God’s favor and salvation, regardless of their outward conditions) are the meek (the mild, patient, long-suffering), for they shall inherit the earth!
~Matthew 5:5 (Amp)~

Prayer
Father God, you know how difficult it is for me to stay calm in the middle of storms, especially when I sense I am being attacked.  Your son teaches to “turn the other cheek” something foreign to me.  I am so used to striking back, putting up my defenses and sulking afterwards that I do not have the discipline this late in my life to think first.  Help me not to be reactive, help me to be wise beyond my years that I may not feel the need to respond in kind when I sense aggression.  Grant me the supernatural peace that only You can provide to help me disarm my adversaries with my calm responses.  Help me to always be mindful that all my words and actions have a source and a destination.  They can either come from my dark side or from my loving spirit, reborn in You.  They can either lead me closer to You or away from You.  May I do thy will always!  In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in sex and love addiction SLAA/SAA/SA/XA recovery blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

