24-09: In The Stillness…

In The Stillness…
 
Quote
I felt in need of a great pilgrimage so I sat still for three days and God came to me.   ~Kabir~

Meditation
Most of us feel like we must be in continual pursuit, and always physically working toward something.   We do not like to be still.  We think we will die if we stop doing or we keep ourselves from having to face ourselves by staying busy with crapola, negative spiritual granola.  We become so wrapped up in "doing" and accomplishing, that we miss some of the greatest revelations, which can come during times of stillness and silence.  Stress, hyper activity or the inability to stay in the now, be still and take time to listen is one of our greatest obstacles to a life of peace and serenity.   If we allow it our daily lives can become extremely hectic, and many times it seems there just aren’t enough hours in the day to get everything done that “needs our attention”, as if we are so important!
 
Thought for the day
Learning to prioritize, plan and take the time to simply be still and listen can return great reward.  We must get off the merry go round of addictive behavior (busyness is a great contributor to it) and a sure way to accomplish this is to stop the craziness of our schedule of living. A completely new perspective may result, as to those things which are truly most important, and wherein your real strength lies.    

Scripture
Moses answered the people, "Do not be afraid.  Stand firm and you will see the deliverance the LORD will bring you today.  The Egyptians you see today you will never see again.  The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still."
~Exodus 14:13,14 (NIV)~

Be still and rest in the Lord; wait for Him and patiently lean yourself upon Him;  fret not yourself because of him who prospers in his way, because of the man who brings wicked devices to pass.  Cease from anger and forsake wrath; fret not yourself–it tends only to evildoing. ~Psalm 37:7,8 (Amp)~

But those who wait on the LORD will find new strength.  They will fly high on wings like eagles.  They will run and not grow weary.  They will walk and not faint. ~Isaiah 40:31 (NLT)~

Prayer
Father God, you know I am truly nuts!  Help me, with the help of my sponsor, to redesign my plan for living to be in accordance with your plan for me.  Help me to be attentive and responsive to my sponsor’s instruction, especially regarding a redesign of my day to day life.  Let me not use the addict’s favorite and famous words “but you don’t understand” to separate myself from mankind.  Help me to know that it is not your will that needs tweaking but my misinterpretation of your will for me. What this sinful world needs of me is to not question….What You want from me is change and submission.   Help me today to be content in being still and waiting on You.  You will come……..if my house is in order and I invite you.  Help me be still today , if only for a little while, that I may get a glimpse of true peace and serenity.

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in sex and love addiction SLAA/SAA/SA/XA recovery blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

