25-08: Keep Your Eyes On The Price

Keep Your Eyes On The Price


Quote
When one door closes another one opens; but we so often look so long and so
regretfully upon the closed door, that we do not see the ones which open for
us.
~Alexander Graham Bell~

 

Meditation
Don’t dwell on past mistakes, failures or lost opportunities.  Put the
past behind you once and for all…learn from it and move on!  Pay
attention to what presents itself to you today, being ever vigilant for new
opportunities to learn, and to grow, and to work on developing into all that
you might become.  Allow yourself to experience life to the fullest, free
from the shackles and burdens of that which lies behind, and lies ahead,
striving then to be present to the presents that the present contains
now.

 

Thought for the
Day

Am I truly in the presence of the
One that only exists for me today or am I distracted by the same forces
that have controlled me all my life, especially when I was acting out?


Scriptures
And all of us, as with unveiled face, [because we] continued to behold [in the
Word of God] as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are constantly being
transfigured into His very own image in ever increasing splendor and from one
degree of glory to another;  [for this comes] from the Lord [Who is] the
Spirit.
~2 Corinthians 3:18 (Amp)~

Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed
away; behold, all things are become new. ~2 Corinthians 5:17~

Brethren, I do not regard myself as having laid hold of it yet; but one thing I
do:  forgetting what lies behind and reaching forward to what lies
ahead,  I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God
in Christ Jesus.
~Philippians 3:13,14 (NASB)~

 

Prayer

Hi buddy, I am so full of myself I
can’t get away from me!  I try to
get away by chasing new dreams, getting new jobs, wives, businesses, lovers,
careers, houses, toys but the Truth is every where I go…..There I am!     Even when things are
seemingly going well, if I am honest, I will admit the reason for that is “You
are providing for all my needs and wants”.  But deep down inside I know this too shall pass as I am
still ruled by past desires and fears. 
I am my own worst enemy!  Help
me
then to be free of all of my analysis of paralysis!   Help me to stop sabotaging my life!  Help me to stop looking at me and
filtering every detail of life through this pair of worn out glasses.  Help me to see through “A new
set of glasses” life as it really is for those that reside in the spiritual
realm
.  Help me to close
the doors of the past and leave unopened the doors of the future.  Help me to know who I really am
today that I might see my flaws, and be committed one day at a time to grow in
your likeness. I pray as it says in the 6th Step, that one day soon
as I dedicate each and everyday to burning off old warts, looking for ones that
will try to grow back, while in complete submission to You and in Your service,
I might grow to be considered….a godly man.  In His mighty name I pray. Amen

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in sex and love addiction SLAA/SAA/SA/XA recovery blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

