21-08: A Time for Renewal…

A Time for Renewal…

Quote
All that is gold does not glitter, Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither, Deep roots are not reached by frost. From the ashes a fire shall be woken, A light from the shadows shall spring; Renewed shall be blade that was broken:  The crown-less again shall be king.
~J.R.R. Tolkein~

Meditation
It’s a fact of life that most of us must be broken before we surrender completely and seek help from our addiction.  And so it is that this same act of being broken is necessary for us to truly succeed in all that has been set aside for us to accomplish.  That moment of hopelessness and despair, when we have exhausted all that we know to do in our own strength is the very time when we can begin to consider that there is something more for us.  If you feel that you’ve reached the end of yourself, then look up…it simply means that now is the time to stir the ashes, and allow that fire from within to awaken you to real life in the spirit.
 
Thought for the day
It matters little whether one is sober a little while or a long while.  We must all be in tune with our spirit so that when we encounter the difficulties of life, as we surely will, we do not allow those things to keep us from our real purpose.  For all of us who believe in a higher purpose through our belief in a Higher Power, these obstacles are just detours and we must get through them if we are to answer God’s true calling for us.  How are you handling life’s difficulties today?  Are you letting them overwhelm you or are you keeping them in perspective, allowing for continuing spiritual growth?

Scriptures
Hear my prayer, O LORD, And give ear to my cry; Do not be silent at my tears; For I am a stranger with You, A sojourner, as all my fathers were.  I waited patiently for the LORD; And He inclined to me, And heard my cry.  He also brought me up out of a horrible pit, Out of the miry clay, And set my feet upon a rock, And established my steps.~Psalms 39:12,40:1,2 (NKJV)~

But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint. ~Isaiah 40:31~

"Truly, truly, I say to you, unless a grain of wheat falls into the earth and dies, it remains alone; but if it dies, it bears much fruit." ~Jesus / John 12:24 (NASB)~
 
Prayer
Heavenly Father, I know deep inside that there is no difference in the type of obstacle I face. Whether it is a family issue with my spouse or my children, or a job situation, or a physical ailment or a political or social issue; it is not the issue that is important but my reaction to it.  Help me today to deal with life on life’s terms, knowing deep inside that I am only responsible for the process by which I deal with my difficulties and that you, Lord of all, are responsible for the results.  Abba Father, help me to see through Satan’s interferences, that I might not be kept from pursuing my higher purpose…those works that you have set aside for me, which in fulfilling, will bring me to an ever deepening relationship with you.  This I ask in the name of your son, the Lamb who takes away the sins of the world, Jesus.  Amen

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in sex and love addiction SLAA/SAA/SA/XA recovery blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

