30-07: A Frame of Mind…

A Frame of Mind…

Quote
Our greatest battles are those within our own minds.  ~Jameson Frank~

Meditation
You are truly only limited by the constraints you place upon yourself within your own mind.  The moment you begin to conceive of a bold new direction or a lofty goal, oftentimes your mind will immediately begin to conjure up all the reasons why it can’t work for you, or that you’re not capable or worthy of it.  In order to achieve all that is available to you, you must first eliminate all of those thoughts, leaving no doubt whatsoever in your mind, that your direction is sound.
 
Thought for the day
One of the greatest obstacles we face each day is our own idea of our worthlessness.  Satan, the Prince of lies has deeply imbedded in the mind of an addict the concept of being absolutely non deserving of spiritual redemption.  I remember a time when I myself thought I could never be like some of the seemingly good fellows attending church with me.  They were destined to feel accomplished because they were righteous men with dignity and integrity.  I could never reach that level of manhood because deep down inside I believed that I was somehow morally deficient.  And then I found the 12 Steps and began my climb and advance "out of the shadows and into the light."   It seems many of us have not bought into the fact that there is no amount of work we can do to become worthy of God’s grace.  We all need to remind ourselves and others each and every day that we are deserving of God’s grace for one reason only…we are his children period.  So next time you are faced with exercising your will (making decisions) between right and wrong, godliness and worldliness, remember that we do not need to keep making wrong decisions.  We do have a choice today, not only to move away from addiction but to move towards a life of redemption serving God and our fellow brothers and sisters.
 
Scriptures
(For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal, but mighty through God to the pulling down of strongholds;) Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ; ~2 Corinthians 10:4,5~

And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God. ~Romans 12:2~

I will bless the Lord, Who has given me counsel; yes, my heart instructs me in the night seasons.   I have set the Lord continually before me; because He is at my right hand, I shall not be moved.  Therefore my heart is glad and my glory [my inner self] rejoices; my body too shall rest and confidently dwell in safety…
~Psalm 16:7-9 (Amp)~

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in sex and love addiction SLAA/SAA/SA/XA recovery blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

