Something Different, Something New…

Something Different, Something New…

Quote
All truth passes through three stages.  First, it is ridiculed.  Second, it
is violently opposed.  Third, it is accepted as being self-evident.
~Arthur Schopenhauer~

Meditation
When you are given a new idea, a vision of how to do something in a new way or a revelation on an existing truth, don’t expect the world to beat a path to your door.  Most people are violently opposed to change, and are slow to accept something new and different.  Don’t listen to all the reasons friends, family, foes or others will give you, as to why something cannot be done.  Trust that inner voice that says, "I believe this will work…I believe I can do this"!
 
Thought for the day
Sometimes family or friends really mean well but their enabling, rationalizations and advice can lead us to stay exactly where we need to move from.  I remember my ex wife asking me if it was necessary that I tell people I am a recovering alcoholic.  Then again I have had people through the years, including my mom, ask me “why I need to go to all those meetings” and still others say to me “Oh well surely you can have just one”.   I know of some spouses who do not want their “addicts” to go to many meetings.  That is pretty sick and shows a total lack of understanding about what addiction is all about… as if somehow there are a minimal number of meetings that will work perfectly if you are a family man/woman with children!
 
Regardless of who is attempting to derail your vision it is perfectly OK to stand firm.  It is OK to cuss those spirits that stand in the way of truth.  As Jesus said to Peter, “get behind me Satan” is an appropriate response to those that would stand in the way of the truth.  Have you cussed any spirits lately?  Is anyone trying to sabotage your recovery or that of another?
 
Scriptures
Receive my instruction, and not silver; and knowledge rather than choice gold.  For wisdom is better than rubies; and all the things that may be desired are not to be compared to it.  I wisdom dwell with prudence, and find out knowledge of witty inventions. ~Proverbs 8:10-12~

“But forget all that—it is nothing compared to what I am going to do.  For I am about to do something new.  See, I have already begun! Do you not see it?  I will make a pathway through the wilderness.  I will create rivers in the dry wasteland."
~Isaiah 43:18,19 (NLT)~

Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things passed away; behold, new things have come. ~2 Corinthians 5:B)~

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in sex and love addiction SLAA/SAA/SA/XA recovery blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

