Just Wait, And See…

Just Wait, And See…

Quote   
Be patient.  Patience is also preparation.  It is the action before the act.  ~Noak ben Shea~

Meditation
When addicts begin to have a vision of something, it’s often difficult to wait until they are fully prepared, and circumstances are right to execute the plan, often because there is no plan or because obsessive, compulsive behavior takes over.  Oftentimes, impatience, and attempting to do something before it’s time, has led to disaster…when if things had been simply allowed to develop naturally, resounding success would have been achieved.  Always remember, that days of preparation are never wasted days!
 
Thought for the day
You know this story; addict gets sober after 30 years of acting out, head clears a bit, wants to become an angel overnight, help others and make amends to all, then he wants to become president of his company, lecture at the Optimist Club and run for political office…all in 120 days.  It’s too bad that God works on his own timetable, or is it?  I for one want to give Him a chance to dictate my life because I have not done such a good job of running it.  How about you?  Are you willing to wait on Him or are you still running the show like a bull in a China shop?
Stop…learn to breathe, be centered, pray, work the steps, do your inventory, ask for Him to help with those deep rooted character defects, begin to create a vision for your life, make restitution, learn to live with others in peace, start giving and sharing, double check your vision.  Is it safe? Are we learning to deal with setbacks and obstacles?  Can we see our faith and resolve to grow as we overcome our life’s dilemmas? OK, then let’s start moving slowly and steadily towards that life goal.  He has waited on us a lifetime…can we now wait on Him? 

Scriptures
Consider it wholly joyful, my brethren, whenever you are enveloped in or encounter trials of any sort or fall into various temptations.  Be assured and understand that the trial and proving of your faith bring out endurance and steadfastness and patience. But let endurance and steadfastness and patience have full play and do a thorough work, so that you may be [people] perfectly and fully developed [with no defects], lacking in nothing. ~James 1:2-4 (Amp)~

I waited patiently for the LORD; and he inclined unto me, and heard my cry.  He brought me up also out of a horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my goings. ~Psalms 40:1,2~

So do not throw away this confident trust in the Lord.  Remember the great reward it brings you!  Patient endurance is what you need now, so that you will continue to do God’s will.  Then you will receive all that he has promised. ~Hebrews 10:35,36 (NLT)~

Prayer
Heavenly Father, I praise you Lord, I praise you for your goodness, righteousness, your mercy, your unconditional love for all peoples and for me, your most undeserving child.  Lord, I admit to you I am a sinner, a repentant one, who clearly sees the error of his ways.  Help me to continue to see and feel the errors I commit, that I may recognize them, turn from them and resolve to sin no more. Elohim, I give you thanks for all my gifts because I know that everything in my life that is good comes from you…but today I want to express my deepest gratitude for the gift of conscience that keeps me committed to seeking your ways.

Father God, I ask you today for the understanding and appreciation of patience. 
Continue to let me get glimpses of a joyful and peaceful life that can be mine if I can learn to stay on the path…no matter what happens. 
Help me to know that my ways are not your ways; that your ways are perfect and cannot be improved upon. 
Help me be free of self seeking and selfishness that I may grow in your image and likeness, and this I ask in the name above all names, the lamb, spotless and unblemished, your son Jesus. Amen!

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in sex and love addiction SLAA/SAA/SA/XA recovery blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

