Transformation

Transformation…

Quote
What the caterpillar calls the end of the world, the master calls a butterfly.
~Richard Bach~

Meditation
There generally comes a defining moment in everyone’s life, when it will seem as though our entire world as we know it, has come to an end.  What has always worked in the past, no longer seems to work for us.  Relationships that we felt would last a lifetime are suddenly taken from us forever.  Or, we simply feel that we can’t go on another day the way that things are.  That is precisely the moment when we can be changed, and transformed, in order to become all that we were meant to be…a "suddenly", when everything comes into focus, and we recognize exactly who we are, why we are here, and to Whom we belong.  Take heart if you are at that moment today…look up to where your help truly comes from…and be prepared for your "suddenly"!!!
 
Thought for the day
Pain is the touchstone to growth, and so it has been for me.  The times in my life when I have felt the most aloneness, the most rejection by the world, the most desperation, the most powerlessness have been immediately followed by a total surrender of the like I never thought capable of.  These surrenders have always been followed by a deep sense of hope and faith and understanding of what it is that these hard “lessons” have been about.  I do not welcome or anticipate their coming with joy and happiness but typically there is a great feeling of peace that I experience after the lesson is over.  Why is it that I must get to such a place before I can squirm more out of my cocoon.  I don’t know. I have questions not answers.  I can say this though, without these experiences I would be a self centered, egotistical and selfish human being.
 
Have you started to be transformed or are you still living in your cocoon?  You need not go far for the answer.  If you do not have a sponsor with whom you are working the steps daily, if you still live as if the sun rises and sets on your butt. If you find those around you mostly dealing with you as if you were some nasty old drill sergeant.  If you do not really know why you do the things you do.  If you feel miserable often, even when life is seemingly OK.  If you do not pray or talk to God often.  Most of all, if you often obsess about why you can’t drink, drug, act out or misbehave like you’d like to…chances are you are just a disaster waiting to happen.  Get started before life passes you by and you suddenly realize you have come to the end and you are still alone!  What a terrible way to enter eternity!  God awaits you.

Scriptures
And Jacob was left alone, and a Man wrestled with him until daybreak.
And when [the Man] saw that He did not prevail against [Jacob], He touched the hollow of his thigh; and Jacob’s thigh was put out of joint as he wrestled with Him.  Then He said, Let Me go, for day is breaking.  But [Jacob] said, I will not let You go unless You declare a blessing upon me.  [The Man] asked him, What is your name? And [in shock of realization, whispering] he said, Jacob [supplanter, schemer, trickster, swindler]!  And He said, Your name shall be called no more Jacob [supplanter], but Israel [contender with God]; for you have contended and have power with God and with men and have prevailed.  Then Jacob asked Him, Tell me, I pray You, what [in contrast] is Your name?  But He said, Why is it that you ask My name?  And [the Angel of God declared] a blessing on [Jacob] there.  And Jacob called the name of the place Peniel [the face of God], saying, For I have seen God face to face, and my life is spared and not snatched away.
~Genesis 32-24-30 (Amp)~

Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty (emancipation from bondage, freedom).  And all of us, as with unveiled face, [because we] continued to behold [in the Word of God] as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are constantly being transfigured into His very own image in ever increasing splendor and from one degree of glory to another; [for this comes] from the Lord [Who is] the Spirit. ~2 Corinthians 13:17,18 (Amp)~
 
Prayer
Abba Father, I come to you this morning and I thank you for the day ahead.  I thank you for the air I will breathe today and for the works that you have set aside for me to fulfill, for it is the pursuit of these tasks, little as they may be, that give purpose and joy to my life today.  Help me oh King of Kings, to feel empowered by your spirit today, that anything I may face will seem inconsequential when compared with the knowledge that I am your son and it is in you I live. Help me to truly feel victorious that I continue to grow in the spirit despite my successes or failures in the world.  This I pray in the name above all names, that of your son Jesus.  Amen.

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in sex and love addiction SLAA/SAA/SA/XA recovery blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

