Thank God for the Maintenance steps!

Thank God for
the Maintenance steps!

 

Quote
Denial ain’t just a river in Egypt. ~Mark Twain~

Meditation
We must be ever diligent not to become smug in our own knowledge and
self-righteousness, thinking that we are beyond reproach.  That prideful
arrogance can easily blind us to our own weaknesses and shortcomings, and open
the door to other improper attitudes and behaviors.  The fall from such a
lofty perch can be a quite painful one.  

 

Thought for the
day

No matter how long “old timers” are
around we still must be especially watchful of our words and actions.  Confidence based on our experience
and knowledge of the program can easily become prideful arrogance if our feet
are not firmly planted and our spirituality is not rooted and fortified each
day.  Self honesty, open-mindedness
and a willingness to work on changing ourselves with the Master’s help are
essential to the old timers as well as the newcomer.  Am I willing to listen today to the heartbeat of my spirit
or am I solely interested in how well I sound?

Scriptures
Then Jesus said to them, "You will all fall away because of Me this night,
for it is written, ‘I WILL STRIKE DOWN THE SHEPHERD, AND THE SHEEP OF THE FLOCK
SHALL BE SCATTERED.’  But Peter said to Him, "Even though all may
fall away because of You, I will never fall away."  Jesus said to
him, "Truly I say to you that this very night, before a rooster crows, you
will deny me three times."  Peter said to Him, "Even if I have
to die with You, I will not deny you." All the disciples said the same
thing too…  Now Peter was sitting outside in the courtyard, and a
servant-girl came to him and said, "You too were with Jesus the
Galilean."  But he denied it before them all, saying, "I do not
know what you are talking about." When he had gone out to the gateway,
another servant-girl saw him and said to those who were there, "This man
was with Jesus of Nazareth."  And again he denied it with an oath,
"I do not know the man."  A little later the bystanders came up
and said to Peter, "Surely you too are one of them; for even the way you
talk gives you away." Then he began to curse and swear, "I do not
know the man!" And immediately a rooster crowed.  And Peter
remembered the word which Jesus had said, "Before a rooster crows, you
will deny Me three times." And he went out and wept bitterly. ~Matthew
26:31,33,69-75 (NASB)~

When swelling and pride come, then emptiness and shame come also, but the
humble (those who are lowly, who have been pruned or chiseled by trial, and
renounce self) are skillful and godly with Wisdom and soundness. ~Proverbs 11:2
(Amp)~

Pride goes before destruction, And a haughty spirit before stumbling.  It
is better to be humble in spirit with the lowly Than to divide the spoil with
the proud.
~Proverbs 16:18,19 (NASB)~

 

Prayer

Lord Jesus, the truth is the longer
I am around the less I know.  Keep
me searching, seeking, wanting and thirsting for your Living Water.  I do not want to arrive; I want to keep
walking, trudging the clear path you’ve left us.  Please help me stay desirous of your way of life.  Help me stay humble, teachable and
pliable no matter how much I think I know.  And when I become just so full of myself that I am a
danger to myself and others bring me back to the reality that “my best thinking
got me here”!
  I ask this in
your most holy name.  Amen.

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in sex and love addiction SLAA/SAA/SA/XA recovery blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

