Surprise, Surprise…

Surprise, Surprise…

Quote
It’s amazing what ordinary people can do if they set out without preconceived notions. ~Charles F. Kettering~

Meditation
Too often, we think we know just exactly how something should be done, or precisely what the end result should be.  If we would only be open to all possibilities, laying our preconceived ideas aside, willing to change and adapt to changing circumstance, we might be quite surprised at how things develop, and evolve into something far beyond anything we originally may have anticipated.
 
Thought for the day
We addicts/alcoholics are something else!  We demand things from life and plan everything as if we were somehow in charge of world operations.  Most of us can not even plan our bowel movements, never mind some of the results we obsess about.  When we begin to work on projects, ideas, plans, or even vacations let us all humbly come to the True Director of our lives, lay out our thoughts and desires and prayerfully request His intervention and blessing in everything about us so that His will for us not ours be done.  We can rest assured that his plans will always be better for us than our best laid plans for ourselves.  That is the true meaning of faith and submission to His will for us.

Scriptures
"For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways," declares the LORD.  "As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.  As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish, so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater, so is my word that goes out from my mouth:  It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.  You will go out in joy and be led forth in peace; the mountains and hills will burst into song before you, and all the trees of the field will clap their hands."
~Isaiah 55:8-12 (NIV)~

Now to Him who is able to do far more abundantly beyond all that we ask or think, according to the power that works within us, to Him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus to all generations forever and ever.  Amen.
~Ephesians 3:20,21 (NASB)~
 
Prayer
Father God, I know you don’t need my help today in running my life or that of others but I do need yours.  Help me to know that everything I will do today is part of a loving plan that you have designed for me.  Help me to live the next 24 hours convinced that you will not give me any more than I can handle.  Remind me that I am not in charge of “my world” and that the only thing I need to do to be successful today is act in accordance with your will for me regardless of the issues I will face.  I am responsible only for the process, struggling only to do the best I know how in every situation.  You are responsible for all results.  And so it is, with this conviction that I will attempt to live the next 24 hours according to your mandates; to love you and no other gods and to love my brother as myself.
In your most holy name I pray.  Amen! 

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

