Try, Try Again…

Try, Try Again… 

Quote
Courage does not always roar.  Sometimes, it is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, "I will try again tomorrow". ~Author Unknown~

Meditation
How often we know in our heart the right things to do, and yet we simply fall short, and fail to do them.  We know the proper course of action, but for whatever reason, cannot seem to stay the course.  Then, as guilt and remorse overtake us, we amplify the problem by beating ourselves up (and at times, those around us) for the failing.  Take courage…knowing that recognition and conviction, in and of itself, is a step in the right direction.  Pick yourself up, repent of your shortcomings, and forgive yourself, as you are forgiven…then renew your determination to overcome, this day forward…one step at a time…one day at a time, one moment at a time.  Life is found in these small victories, not usually in milestones!  
 
Thought for the day  
It takes no moral giant to admit his/her shortcomings.  After all, some of them have left their indelible marks on our lives and the lives of others and are pretty obvious and glaring.  When doing our 4, 5, 6, and 7th steps or our 10th step it is of paramount importance that not only do we acknowledge our “sinfulness”, but more importantly we must resolve to sin no more.  Our actions involving those character defects, those deformities that have plagued us and kept us from the sunshine of the spirit must be cast out.  They will not be without our resolve to be rid of them.  Understanding that we will not do this perfectly we must acknowledge our human propensity to sin and our dependence on God to help us so that when we temporarily fail, we (in AA parlance) pick up our butts, put it in a bag and bring it to a meeting!  The next time you fail to be all that you can be don’t beat yourself up, call your sponsor, admit the temporary setback (no matter the situation) and come home to be refilled.
 
Scriptures
For I do not understand my own actions [I am baffled, bewildered].  I do not practice or accomplish what I wish, but I do the very thing that I loathe [which my moral instinct condemns]…However, it is no longer I who do the deed, but the sin [principle] which is at home in me and has possession of me…For I endorse and delight in the Law of God in my inmost self [with my new nature].  But I discern in my bodily members [in the sensitive appetites and wills of the flesh] a different law (rule of action) at war against the law of my mind (my reason) and making me a prisoner to the law of sin that dwells in my bodily organs [in the sensitive appetites and wills of the flesh].  O unhappy and pitiable and wretched man that I am!  Who will release and deliver me from [the shackles of] this body of death?  O thank God! [He will!] through Jesus Christ (the Anointed One) our Lord!…
~Romans 7:15,17,22-25 (Amp)~

But if Christ lives in you, [then although] your [natural] body is dead by reason of sin and guilt, the spirit is alive because of [the] righteousness [that He imputes to you].  And if the Spirit of Him Who raised up Jesus from the dead dwells in you, [then] He Who raised up Christ Jesus from the dead will also restore to life your mortal (short-lived, perishable) bodies through His Spirit Who dwells in you.  So then, brethren, we are debtors, but not to the flesh [we are not obligated to our carnal nature], to live [a life ruled by the standards set up by the dictates] of the flesh…So too the [Holy] Spirit comes to our aid and bears us up in our weakness; for we do not know what prayer to offer nor how to offer it worthily as we ought, but the Spirit Himself goes to meet our supplication and pleads in our behalf with unspeakable yearnings and groanings too deep for utterance…
~Romans 8:10-12,26 (Amp)~
 
Prayer
Heavenly Father, I praise you for your power, your mercy and your patience.  You are the Lord of the 2nd chance and never turn your back on me.  Abba Father please help me accept that you do not expect perfection from me.  You know me and recognize my inability to live as your son (in perfect communion with you), my humanness.  Help me to destroy those tapes in my head that remind me of past failures so that when I fall short in any situation I can pick myself up, not allow myself to sit on the pity pot and go forward, trudging the road to happy destiny with a fresh resolve to be a better person, to be a godly man.  In Jesus’ name I pray.  Amen. 

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

