Retaliation

Retaliation


Quote

A Native American grandfather was
talking to his grandson about his anger at being mistreated.  He said,
"I feel as if I have two wolves fighting in my heart. One wolf is the
vengeful, angry, violent one. The other wolf is the loving, compassionate
one." The grandson asked him, "Which wolf will win the fight in your
heart?" The grandfather smiled and answered, "The one I feed."
~Author unknown~

Meditation
How we respond to things that are said, done, or which happen to us, is in
large part a result of the thoughts that we entertain regarding them. 
While our first thought may be to return harsh treatment with like behavior, we
do have the power within us to overcome that instinct, and instead return
kindness and love in every situation.  Learning to measure and control our
responses in such a manner is one of the most liberating and life-changing
accomplishments one can attain.  Not only does it serve to bring a sense
of peace and harmony to our own life, but also to all whom we come in contact.

 

Thought for the Day

The God in me would never strike
back at anyone in His own defense. He did not do it at Calvary (Forgive them
Lord, they do not know what they do) and He would not do it today. So the
question I need to ask myself daily is: Have I conquered myself?  Do I allow other’s wrongs to influence
my spirit to the point of vengefulness and the ugly R word……Resentment that is?

 

Scriptures
For though we live in the world, we do not wage war as the world does. The
weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they
have divine power to demolish strongholds. We demolish arguments and every
pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take
captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ. You are looking only on
the surface of things.  If anyone is confident that he belongs to Christ,
he should consider again that we belong to Christ just as much as he. ~
2
Corinthians 10:3-5,7

Finally, all of you should be of one mind, full of sympathy toward each other,
loving one another with tender hearts and humble minds. Don’t repay evil for
evil.
Don’t retaliate when people say unkind things about you.
Instead, pay them back with a blessing. That is what God wants you to do, and
he will bless you for it. For the Scriptures say, "If you want a happy
life and good days, keep your tongue from speaking evil, and keep your lips
from telling lies." Turn away from evil and do good. Work hard at living
in peace with others. The eyes of the Lord watch over those who do right, and
his ears are open to their prayers. But the Lord turns his face against those
who do evil. Now, who will want to harm you if you are eager to do good? But
even if you suffer for doing what is right, God will reward you for it…
~1
Peter 3:8-14 (NLT)~

 

Prayer

Heavenly Father, I come to you
today in the mission of self discovery. 
I want to be honest with the world but most importantly with myself
about my true condition.  Am I as
well as I think I am or is that Satan preparing me for a “casual slip”?  Am I in denial about my heart?  Am I allowing my over sensitivity to
other’s comments to create in me justifiable anger (there can be no such thing
for us addicts) which poisons my heart or am I able to take criticisms and
explore for the truth, discard what does not fit and pray for those who are so
sick they need to pick on me to feel better themselves?  Am I done with retaliation as a life
strategy?
Please
continue to heal my heart so that it can remain reserved for You and the love You
will for me to share with others in my life. 
Amen.

 

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

