Accurately Speaking…

Accurately Speaking…
 
Quote
Fast is fine, but accuracy is everything. ~Wyatt Earp~
 
Meditation
We addicts must be ever diligent to exercise discernment, both in regard to that which we speak to others, and the things that we regard as truth for ourselves.  Honesty plays a huge part in this.  There is always a part of us, which is tempted to speak what is basic and expedient and not necessarily the whole truth…or, to hear and understand things in a way that makes us "feel" comfortable (the easier softer way).  We often try to impress and convince others using misquotes, hearsay and our own misinterpretations of the program.    Some addicts even take snippets out of our recovery literature out of context to justify their thoughts and actions.  The best example of this is when you hear about "progress rather than perfection" to justify behavior that is inconsistent with spiritual growth.  Talk about self justification and rationalization!
 
Thought for the day                                                                                                        
Do I resent getting constructive criticism from old timers ? Am I OK with those who point out my flaws or character defects?  Have I given those close to me the right and responsibility to challenge me when they feel I am not being honest or forthcoming in sharing truthfully about my life?  Sometimes, the truth does indeed hurt, and we must accept that, be willing to receive the correction, and then learn and grow from it.   Other times it would be wise to confirm that which we believe is God’s message to us is indeed of God and not from his nemesis. Honesty of course is the antidote to serious detours to our recovery.

Scripture
Use accurate and honest weights and measures. Then you will live for a long time in the land that the LORD your God is giving you. ~Deuteronomy 25:15

Incline your ear and hear the words of the wise, and apply your mind to my knowledge;  For it will be pleasant if you keep them within you, that they may be ready on your lips.  So that your trust may be in the LORD, I have taught you today, even you.  ~Proverbs 22:17-21 (NASB)~

…preach the word; be ready in season and out of season; reprove, rebuke, exhort, with great patience and instruction.  For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine;  but wanting to have their ears tickled, they will accumulate for themselves teachers in accordance to their own desires, and will turn away their ears from the truth and will turn aside to myths.  But you, be sober in all things, endure hardship, do the work of an evangelist, fulfill your ministry. 2 Timothy 4:2-5 (NASB)~
 
Prayer
Heavenly Father, you know how stubborn, prideful and self reliant I am.  Help me in the next 24 hours to know personal freedom by not allowing me to take charge of my recovery.  I need to learn to trust you and so you have handpicked (Did I select my sponsor for his instruction?) someone to teach me your ways and the path I need to take to recover from this insidious disease.  Help me to learn to trust you by learning to trust my sponsor first.  Help me to submit to his instruction and be 100% compliant with the work I am assigned, the recovery teachings I receive and the love I get.  And if in fact I am determined to do it my way…well let me at least reach the level of self honesty that allows me to know it is all about me and my unwillingness to follow the easy yet tough road of recovery.   Help me see the truth and not place the blame on another.  Amen

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

