The Great Awakening…

The Great Awakening…

Quote

Appreciation of life itself, becoming suddenly aware of the miracle of being alive, on this planet, can turn what we call ordinary life into a miracle.  We come awake to such a realization when we recognize our connection to a spiritual dimension.
~Dan Wakefield ~

Meditation

It is imperative that we awaken from the stupor we’ve been in for all these years, and in some cases decades of using and abusing things.

Understanding that there is a force at work in your life, beyond this natural realm in which we live, is the beginning of humility and true wisdom.  It is only through a very real, and personal relationship and communion with that higher power, that eternal purposes can be embraced… allowing you to take your eyes off of your circumstances, and to never look at life, or yourself, the same again! 

 

Thought for the day
As I look at my life today in recovery am I in the midst of a radical psychic change, a sort of paradigm shift where my priorities are being re- arranged, where my relationships are being re-shaped , my ideas and thoughts are being-re formed and finally where my heart is changing?  It is said that it is only through a profound psychic change that we are able to recover from addiction’s grip and grow in our personal relationship with God.

 

Scriptures

As for me, I will continue beholding Your face in righteousness (rightness, justice, and right standing with You);  I shall be fully satisfied, when I awake [to find myself] beholding Your form [and having sweet communion with You].
~Psalm 17:15 (Amp)~

You will say, They struck me, but I was not hurt!  They beat me [as with a hammer], but I did not feel it!  When shall I awake?…Be not envious of evil men, nor desire to be with them;  For their minds plot oppression and devise violence, and their lips talk of causing trouble and vexation.  Through skillful and Godly wisdom is a house (a life, a home, a family) built, and by understanding it is established [on a sound and good foundation], And by knowledge shall its chambers [of every area] be filled with all precious and pleasant riches.  A wise man is strong and is better than a strong man, and a man of knowledge increases and strengthens his power; ~Proverbs 23:35,24:1-5 (Amp)~

For this reason it says, awake, sleeper, and arise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you.  Therefore be careful how you walk, not as unwise men, but as wise, making the most of your time, because the days are evil.  So then do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.  And do not get drunk with wine, for that is dissipation, but be filled with the Spirit… ~Ephesians 5:14-18 (NASB)~

 

Prayer

Heavenly Father, Wonderful Counselor, help me to know today that I am a miracle “in the making” and that as an incomplete new creation “in the works” I will err, and when I do you are not going to desert me.  Help me to be easy on myself and not beat myself up when I fail to live the way your son has showed us.  I try but fail miserably because of pride and ego.  And so I lift myself up and pledge to continue one more day to grow in the image and likeness of my creator. I ask for your wisdom, courage and resolve to continue this way of life.  In His name I pray. Amen.

 

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

