Support

To all of us who have difficulty in "figuring it out"… it really is not that hard.  This is a simple program for complicated people!  Keep it simple!

AA Thought for the Day

Support

When I talk with a newcomer to AA,
my past looks me straight in the face. . .
I extend my hand, and then the miracle happens:
I become healed.
My problems vanish as I reach out to this trembling soul.
– Daily Reflections, p. 274

Thought to Ponder . . .

Give a lot.
Expect little.
Keep it simple.

AA-related ‘Alconym’ . . .

H E L P = Hope, Encouragement, Love, Patience.

A MEMBER SHARES:
My name is James, and I’m an alcoholic.  I looked for support from people who were new in the program like me.  We clung to each other emotionally.  We must have looked like a group of monkeys under a tree looking out for the lion to eat us — all of us scared and not really having a clue how not to drink.  One by one, they drank until I was last man standing.  I had a lot of support from the people who had a lot of more time than I did.  Most of the time, I did not even realize that they gave me support.  It seemed that they were tolerating me only because they had to.  In my head they were condescending and know-it-alls who needed me so they could be superior to somebody.  Later I came to learn that they were patient and I was the arrogant one who "knew-it-all."  Now there are quite a few people who came after me and I am able to give them support.  Or is it they who are supporting me?  It really does work both ways, at least for me.  Thanks for letting me share.
(All shares are reproduced with the kind permission of the person sharing)

About SLAA Tilburg

Wat is seks- en liefdeverslaving? Wij in S.L.A.A. geloven dat seks- en liefdeverslaving een voortschrijdende ziekte is, die niet kan worden genezen maar die, zoals veel ziekten, wel tot staan kan worden gebracht. Zij kan verschillende vormen aannemen – inclusief (maar niet beperkt tot) een dwangmatige behoefte aan seks, extreme afhankelijkheid van één persoon (of meerdere personen), en/of een voortdurend in beslag genomen worden door romantiek, affaires of fantasieën. Er is sprake van een obsessief-dwangmatig patroon, seksueel of emotioneel (of beide), waarin relaties of seksuele activiteiten in toenemende mate destructief geworden zijn voor de loopbaan, het gezinsleven en het gevoel van zelfrespect. Als seks- en liefdeverslaving wordt veronachtzaamd, wordt zij altijd erger. Wanneer wij echter een eenvoudig programma volgen dat voor een reeks van mannen en vrouwen met dezelfde ziekte succesvol is gebleken, kunnen wij herstellen. In S.L.A.A. leren wij de realiteit te accepteren dat wij deze verslaving hebben
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

